Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mark her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

About the Book

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Series The Lunar Chronicles, #4

Format Hardcover, 823 pg

Publisher Feiwel & Friends (November 10th 2015)

Read March 30 to April 2, 2017

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Well, it’s been a long road involving five books, but with the latest installment, Winter, The Lunar Chronicles has come to a bloody yet satisfying conclusion. There’s at least one book, Stars Above, which will be a collection of short stories, but in Winter the main narrative of the series is wrapped up with lots of action, a startling amount of gore, and happy endings for most of the main characters.

The Lunar Chronicles, which include Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Fairest (a prequel about the evil queen Levana), and now Winter, have brought me to over Japan, into China, through the streets of Paris and across the desert in Africa. Finally we head to the moon in the final chapter of this series.

Meyer has done her homework with every location she has set her characters into, but when it comes to the moon, really the sky is the limit and she takes full advantage, creating an impressive world filled with biodomes, moon rock and a sunrise we could never image.

Since picking up Cinder, the first book in the series, I have loved these characters. The premise of the series is a retelling of classic fairy tales, set in a future world that had recovered from World War IV. Humans had colonized the moon, but side effects had occurred, giving “Lunars” gifts that could manipulate the bioelectricity of a person and bend them to your will. Not exactly the thing you want when world leaders and an insane queen are involved.

The final book in this series is the culmination of Cinder (Cinderella), Scarlet (little Red Riding Hood), Cress (Rapunzel) and Winter’s (Snow White) stories, which don’t always put the men in a “knight in shining armor” role and show that women may be the salvation needed to bring together a planet and its moon.

Without giving too much away, Winter will bring together all of your favorite characters, their strongest personality traits, the passionate kisses that are always way too short, and more mutant soldiers that you can’t decide if you love or hate from chapter to chapter. Just when you think Cinder and her friends are in for it, the book will take another turn. My biggest questions as I dove into this book when it released — Will our four heroines all have a happy ending? Will Cinder and Kai be able to find true love at last despite all of the prejudice against her? Will Wolf find Scarlet and have a tomato again? Does Thorne get his act together or will Cress have to bash him over the head with a port screen? Is Winter really as insane as she is leading us to believe? You may just have to read it to find out.

Be My Friend On Goodreads!